What You Need to Know About the Adoption Process

There are many reasons people decide to adopt a child in Tennessee. The process can be arduous for an unprepared individual. The state has a few laws that affect adoption eligibility and dictate the process.

American Adoptions states that a person must be a resident of the state for at least the past six consecutive months and be at least 18 years old. However, the law does not stipulate that the adoptive parent must be married. LGBT parents and singles can adopt a child. Keep in mind that both spouses must meet the eligibility requirements for married couples.

It is essential to obtain the birth parent’s legal consent before the execution of the adoption. This means waiting 72 hours after birth, an appearance before a judge and signing the legal documents. Keep in mind that the birth parent can revoke their consent up to 10 days after the adoption execution.

The Tennessee Department of Children’s Services has a list of frequently asked questions including how to adopt an infant, older children and those in the foster system. Parents cannot meet the prospective child until they have been selected for adoption. Foster parents seeking to adopt the children they foster are the exception.

In many cases parents can select the age range of the child or group of siblings they wish to adopt. The state has an online resource with children in need of adoption. The state keeps the best interests of the child or sibling group in mind when considering adoption selection of parents.